An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be p

The argument takes the stance that the government has to do everything in its capacity to promote the new type of millet based on many assumptions that may either strength or weaken the claim.

Firstly, digging on the feasibility of the new breed in the nation of Tagus, the author assumes that the farmers are educated enough about the new breed of millets and are aware of the requirements to grow the crop. We are aware that many different varieties of the same crop or plant is grown and taken care of differently. For example, the different breeds of mangoes have different seasons which they grow, soil nutrient conditions and water availability. It is important to consider all these factors for the new breed of millets to be promoted. If majority of these factors are favorable to the new breed, a smooth transition into growing and harvesting it can be possible.

Furthermore, the passage suggests that people will be ready to adapt to the new variety based quite a few assumptions. As mentioned previously in the case of mangoes, different breeds of mangoes have different tastes and textures. The author of the argument assumes that the new variety would be an exact mirror image in terms of characteristics of the exisiting breed of millets in Tagus. It is also important to understand how the millets are used in preperation of their daily food and if the new variety can integrate well within the existing food they consume. For instance, it might be that the existing millets are porous and they make a batter out of them to consume but the new variety lacks the characteristic and can not be consumed. This would reduce the possibility of people of Tagus adapting to the new variety due to a required change in their food preparation requirements.

In addition to the above assumptions, an important assumption the author of the argument makes is regarding the price and profitability of the new variety of millets. Even with a subsidy in the price, would the new breed secure the farmers atleast as much profits to the farmers as the existing variety? It is very less likely that a farmer would take a cut in their profits and grow the new variety of millets. It is also important to question the financial status of the government of the impoverished nation of Tagus. Subsidies on the new variety would mean massive amounts of financial liability which is over an above the existing requirements of the nation. Is the government willing to take the step? If so, for how long of a duration would be subsidy be provided to the farmers?

These are all important questions that need to be answered and will either strengthen or weaken the argument made by the author about the government taking all possible actions to promote the new variety.