An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author states that an international development organization working for response to deficiency of vitamin A among the people of a poor country named tagus. Here author states that the organization has got new breed of the millet and which is costly and will cure the deficiency of the vitamin A. author argument is not convincing because of the lack of the evidences that the author has produced.

Firstly the author has manifested that country tagus is poor country and residents are having deficiency of the vitamin A. Author has not shown any survey or idea showing that what percent of people are being affected or what area of people of tagus are showing deficiency. And how the author came to know about the deficiency of the vitamin.

Secondly if the country is poor then developing new breed of seeds which is more in cost, how can it be supported. Though giving subsidies to the farmers for growing new crop can help farmers and motivate people to develop it.But this doesn't ensure that residents will get it the same low prices as traders or businessman can increase the cost and sell it resulting in that people will not get the millet with vitamin A. Giving subsidies to the people of the country directly in buying might be helpful in solving the problem.

Though the millet is the staple food for people of the tagus, they might be adopted to the specific type of millet which is available to them nearby and which is their pocket friendly. This doesn't ensure that they will get accustomed to any breed of the millet.No evidence is presented in the argument showing that there has been any kind of such transformation before.

Author states that government should do any kind of help necessary to fight with deficiency of the vitamin A and promoting this new breed of the millet. Author is not discussing any kind of the measures that government has actively taken to combat with such a situation in the country and has not shown any other strategy for combating the situation in which the plan of the new breed fails to succeed.

Because of the above reasons and lack of compelling evidence regarding the deficiency of the vitamin A in the people of the tagus, author argument is unconvincing.