An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Recently, it was discovered that there is a Vitamin A deficiency among people in the nation of Tagus. To overcome this problem, an international development organization developed a new breed of millet which has content of Vitamin A. The author of the argument believes that this new breed of millet could help to overcome this problem and that the government of Tagus should promote this new breed of millet. In support of their argument, the author has also provided some facts, however, this argument is based on a lot of unattended assumptions, lack of evidence and vague terminologies and thus has a lot of faults that makes it unconvincing.

The author has stated that there is a Vitamin A deficiency in people of Tagus, but has not provided the source of this information. Since the number of people is not provided, it is not correct to consider most of the population of Tagus to be Vitamin A deficient. It may also be possible that the study from which this fact was derived was limited in scope. May be the people under study were having low Vitamin A but in general majority of the people in Tagus do not have this deficiency. Therefore, the fact that people of Tagus have Vitamin A deficiency is vague.

Also considering that majority of people have this deficiency, and new breed of crops are a good alternative, there is no evidence to support the fact that this new breed of millet would grow properly in Tagus. It is possible that the soil of Tagus would not support the growth of this new breed of millet or the weather conditions might not be suitable.

It is also assumed that the people of Tagus would readily accept this new breed of millet. Since the cost of these new seeds are high, it would lead to the final price of the crop being high. Now even if the government provide subsidies to the farmers, the end consumer would still have to pay more. Also it is possible that this new crop could have some side effects and therefore people may not accept it. Also it is possible that some different crop may help fight this problem.

In conclusion, it may be true that this new breed of millet may be the best solution to help fight this problem, the author has not provided compelling argument to support it. There are many faults in the argument provided and the author should do further studies and give more facts to make their statement convincing.