An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

__________

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this prompt, an international organization is finding ways to fight against vitamin A deficiency of Tagus with the help of a new breed of millet that is said to be higher in concentration of vitamin A. For this, they will pay higher subsidies to the farmers for cultivating this particular millet. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, these questions must be answered.

First of all, we need proper data and values of concentration of vitamin A in both- the millet that was previously cultivated as well as the new recommended millet. Maybe, there is a minor difference in concentration which becomes unfeasible for the extra price that it requires to be cultivated. So, maybe we should look into other food items for higher vitamin A concentration and not millets. We also need the exact price involved to cultivate the crop and need to check that the final store price is within the reach of local people. New variant crop can be of no use if it is priced much higher than the previous crop as no one would like to pay more for their staple food. These cost analysis must be presented along with these recommendations for validation purposes.

Secondly, since millet is the staple crop of Tagus, it is hard to believe that people would buy new variant of it because it may force people to change their taste which people may not like. Maybe the traditional millet produced in Tagus has a higher carbohydrate concentration leading it to be a bit more sweet. And perhaps the new variant millet has a pinch of salty taste in it. Then it would be so difficult to make people change their main food habit even if they are told that the new variant has a higher concentration of vitamin A. Again, we need the concentration difference and advertize it on a big scale to make people believe that the new variant is much better than the previous one.

The government, as the prompt says, must do everything in order to promote the new type of millet. We need to know the actual motivation of this statement. The statement should have called the government to work on vitamin A deficiency but it specifies the government to work on the new type of millet. Now, this looks a bit skeptical and hints towards corruption. Perhaps the international organization never worried about the vitamin a deficiency itself, it is just focusing on human trial of the new millet type. If its intentions were pious, they should have told the government to eradicate deficiency at any cost and not just focused particularly on the new millet.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide answers to the above questions, and offer more evidence then only we can fully evaluate the recommendations and work upon them. Relevant data and numbers would give a righteous chance to consider the recommendations and then only can someone decide if these changes are really necessary or not.