An international development organization in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A While seeds for this new type of millet cost more farmers will be p

The argument here discuss about the way to combat vitamin A deficiency in the impoverished nation of Tagus. It state that the new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A, engineered by the international development organization, can help to reduce vitamin A deficiency among people of Tagus. The recommendation made by the author seems viable, however, the line of reasoning provided is weak. The argument is full of unsubstantiated assumptions, unanswered questions and incomplete evidences, which render it unconvincing.

To begin, the international development organization has engineered a new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A, considering deficiency among people of Tagus. They did not provide any substantial evidence that millet rich in vitamin A can actually reduce the deficiency among people. It does not provide any test data that prove that this millet is responsible to increase level of vitamin A in humans. There might be possible that the new breed of millet rich in vitamin A does not interact with human system and thereby does not increase the vitamin A levels among deficient people. The author needs to provide the tested results of the new breed of millet to support his or her stance.

Moreover, the second assumption in this argument is that, while the new type of millet cost more, the subsidies given to farmers for farming the new variety of millet, can mitigate the affect of high cost in the market. This does not provide any evidence that subsidies given to farmers will help local people to buy the new breed of millet over the regular millet. The argument does not provide the data that shows subsidies provided to farmers for engineered millet balances the high cost. To make it more convincing, the author should provide the answer to the question that how the high millet cost and subsidies provided to the farmers will be balanced? and how this will make them farm more new variety of millet.

Furthermore, the author states that as the millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety of millet. While this statement seems convincing, it does not take into account how much millet is consumed in daily meals of people in Tagus. Is this amount is significant enough for people to replace their regular millet with new variety? If people consume only small amount of millet in every meal, will this make any difference in their vitamin A levels? The author needs to provide substantiate examples and clarification for these questions, to make his or her case more convincing to government as well as people of Tagus.

To conclude, the argument in its current state lacks substantial reasoning and evidences. It does not provide answers to the important questions. The government should promote this new type of millet after deliberation over its effect and result. Thus, the author needs to provide more credible information to strengthen his or her case.