An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The arguer asserts that the people of Tagus lack vitamin A. Although, the seeds of this millet are costly the farmers would be paid subsidies, and therefore the arguer has further asserted that the government should do everything to promote this new type. However, there are certain points that question the soundness of the recommendation made by the arguer and relies on the assumptions and is therefore, weak and unconvincing.

Firstly, the arguer states that the nation of Tagus is impoverished and has vitamin A deficiency among its people and so a new breed of millet with high content is developed. But, he doesn't provide the statistics about the number of people who lack vitamin A. Additionally, the arguer doesn't provide the cost of the millet which is being developed and as he states that it is impoverished nation would the people be able to afford the new millet breed. Moreover, he doesn't provide the various benefits that would be there for the people who would have it. The arguer also doesn't provide the distinction between the new breed of millet and the old one. He should have bolstered the argument by providing the cost of the new and old millet, contents of both and the percent increase in vitamin A when they are eaten.

Secondly, the arguer states that the new type of millet cost more so, it could be possible that the farmers won't be able to afford them. The question which arises is how much time would it take for the growth of new millet? What are the favorable conditions for its proper growth? Even though, the arguer states that farmers would be paid subsidies for farming the new variety but doesn't provide the amount they would be paid. However, it is also stated that millet is staple food in Tagus and people would readily adopt to the new variety but doesn't provide evidence on it. How could the arguer state that the people would adopt to new variety? Nevertheless, it may happen that people don't like the new breed of millet as it is costly and insipid. In addition, the arguer also asserts that the government should do everything to promote this new type of millet to combat with vitamin A deficiency. Admittedly, he should have provided the measures and actions which are to be undertaken for the promotion.