An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, the author concludes that Tagus government should do everything it can to support planting and promoting the new type of millet in order to address the problem of vitamin A deficiency among its citizens. To support this statement, the author points out and implies that farmers will be able to grow the millet since they will get subsidies and that Tagus people will accept this new food since it is already popular there. However, this reasoning this not convincing enough since several questions are not answered in this argument.

First of all, the author fails to consider other possible options to solve the vitamin A deficiency problem. It is possible that it saves government more time and effort to just provide citizens with vitamin A pills or import other vegetables that consist of abundant vitamin A from nearby towns. If so, the validity of the argument government should support this recommendation with full effort is by no means well established. Since other options can be much more helpful for addressing this issue.

Second, the author does not provide enough information which can show that farmers can successfully plant the new kinds of millet if they have subsidies. Is the new millet as easy to be plant as the original ones? Does farmers need special facilities or specific knowledge in order to grow the new millet? Are the subsidies enough for farmers to apply this change? If evidence can be provided that it is super easy to grow this new kind of plant and only little subsidies are enough to support farmers to apply the change, farmers may happily embrace this new millet, and thus the argument is strongly justified.

In addition, the author commits a fallacy by falsely assuming that the millet's being staple food now can lead to people's general acceptance for the new type of millet. Is the flavor of the new millets similar to old ones? Can it be stored as long as original millet? For example, if the taste of millet is terrible and it will decay after short period of time, people may not tend to adopt the new millet. In this case, the supposition is dramatically weakened.

In conclusion, although this suggestion seems appealing, it is not strongly bolstered since several critical points are still open to doubt. To better support his or her recommendation, the author should consider and rule out all other possible solutions to address the vitamin A deficiency problem. To prove that farmers are able to grow the new type of plant and that public will adopt this new food, the author needs to provide more information and and probably conduct some survey to make sure the predicted outcome is likely to appear.