An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the International Development organization, there is a deficiency of vitamin A among the people Tagus. The author states various remedies about how to come over this deficiency. However, the article has certain unexplained points which should be clarified before its approval.

To start with, the author mentions about the deficiency of vitamin A alone whereas nowhere states that about how these results were obtained. Not only the number of people, but also what category of people were tested is not mentioned. This throws light on the fact that, apart from deficiency of vitamin A there might be deficiency of other vitamins too. Also, it might so happen that the only a part of the whole is deficient of vitamin A.

Secondly, while the new breed of millet is high in Vitamin A, it does not give any information about the other nutritional value. If people completely depend on this new breed, it might so happen that the deficiency of vitamin A would be fulfilled, however the people of the nation would be deficient of some other vitamin.

Thirdly, there is no numeric value for the costs of the new breed and also the subsidies given to the farmers. If the costs of the new breed is skyrocketing, whereas the subsidies given to the farmers are way to low compared to the prices, the farmers wont cultivate the breed and the village would never come out of vitamin deficiency A.

Also, the author states that the millet is a staple food for the people of the nation. However, the author does not mention if the nutritional content, the taste, the method of cooking and other factors are same as the new breed. If not, the staple food of the nation would be under attack and so would be the people.

Lastly, the author states that the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new plant, although it gives only one such solution for overcoming the problem. The author must specify more solutions, and give more options to select from.

Hence, if the author clears all this information along with the article, only then would a correct decision be made whether implementing the new breed would be beneficial or not.