‘Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that the students do not find enjoyable- my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is going to cause the students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced by another vendor, then there will be serious health consequences for the Kensington students.’

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter to the principal of the school, sent by the parent reveals concern about the health of their child caused by the change in food quality. This cautiousness can be said justifiable and if the issue, the parent is trying to make through the argument is proved true, then it cannot not be taken off blithely. The parent chastises Swift Nutrition for abating the food quality and consequently causing out serious health consequences among the students. However, before jumping to any conclusion about the consequences of Swift Nutrition in health of students, we must answer three main questions.

Firstly, do all the students find the meal insipid or unenjoyable? Maybe it’s only their son and some of his friend find it unenjoyable. Maybe the food tastes decent and it’s only some students who don’t like it. Let’s take an example, may be the Swift Nutrition serves egg in their meal and some students hate its taste. The preference and proclivity towards food can be very nimble among the students. If this is the case, then the argument stated by the parent in the letter doesn’t hold water.

Secondly, do the company serve low-fat and low-calories food? What is the basis for this allegation? Is the parent talking on the basis of any data or research? Is the food on the cafeteria been subjected to nutritional research? If not, then and the inference cannot be drawn from it and the assumption of low-fat and low-calories is flawed. It is possible for foods to be high in nutritional value that though look less enjoyable. If the scenario is similar to this, then the assertion the parent is trying to make is baseless.

Thirdly, will there be serious health consequence if the Swift Nutrition is not replaced by any other cafeteria? What are the evidences of baneful health consequences resulting from the food at the cafeteria? Let’s assume even if the food is low on nutrition and is less enjoyable, this doesn’t mean this will keep on continue. It’s possible that the cafeteria will improve the food being served and its nutritional value. If these questions cannot be answered judiciously then the letter would not hold ground of being empirical.

To draw any conclusion on the consequences of the Swift Nutrition on the food related to the health of child these above-mentioned questions must be answered. If any one of these questions cannot be answered rationally with proper evidences, then the parent’s allegations towards the cafeteria is baseless and the arguments doesn’t hold water.