A Local television station is losing local business advertisers. Viewers are dissatisfied with the changes of coverage from local news to national news.

Local news journalism and television is, by nature, very niche given the material to cover. As such, there are limited avenues where people can access this news and information. For decades, in the United States, local news networks have referred to local news networks to stay informed about local events, and yes, to some degree the weather. This memorandum should focus on this truth and the reasons below to bolster its argument for why the television station's focus should remain local.

There is a plethora of national news networks (MSNBC, CNN, FOX News, ABC) that already deliver national news 24/7. Local news stations should not enter this realm, for many reasons, 1) this is not their mandate, 2) they cannot compete with the resources of these networks, 3) the local audience is likely already referencing these national networks. Local news offers unique information on small area's current events, successes, and challenges, that is absent from national news networks and online. Thus, given the limited availability of this niche material, the memorandum should build on the idea that they are the only, or one of a very few providers, that viewers can refer to for local news.

Regarding advertisements from local businesses, there is an assumption that advertisements during the late-night news program are a result of the news being national and not local. It would bolster the argument if the memorandum could connect a decrease in views after switching to national from local news, because previously it has only been mentioned that viewers are dissatisfied with the overall station. Without this link, it is possible there are multiple reasons why local business are no longer choosing to advertise during this program. Even then, a drop in viewership could be affected by other variables, such as competing programs on other channels, general disinterest in late-night television, etc. There needs to be an overall stronger link between viewership for the late-night program and national/local news, followed by a link to reasons for decreasing local advertising - while clearing any arguments that advertisements are not decreasing for other unaccounted for variables (moral stances against the network, changing revenue strategies, etc.).