lowering rate of accidents

The president of Alta manufacturing company proposes a reduction in the number of working hours by one hour. The suggestion comes from the fact that the company has experienced a 30% increase in the number of accidents compared to its neighbour, Panoply. The idea behind he Presidents proposal, is that having the same working hours as Panoply company will also reduce the number of accidents by increasing the amount of sleep of the workers. The presidents claims is dubious, based on unjustified claims that reducing the working hours will mean automatic increase in sleeping hours and that increasing the the amount of sleep will reduce the number of accidents.

The president is of the view that reducing the number of working hours will reduce the rate of accidents. This claim is based on comparison with Panlopy Company , the neighbour which has a lower accident rate. Basis the claim on this alone isn't enough. the president is assuming that the lower accident rate is attributed to less number of work hours. what evidence is there to come to this assumption? accidents in workplaces are caused by many factors. Faulty machines can be the cause. lack of proper training of workers also increases risks of accidents .one would also ask are the safety measures the same between the companies? some accidents are caused by lack of proper safety measures . perhaps, Panlopy company has more robust safety measures compared to Alta manufacturing Company. To set the argument on a more sound footing, the president needs to demonstrate that factors such as safety measures, lack of training do not affect the rate of accidents and that its only the number of hours causing the higher rate of accidents.

Secondly, the president proposes the reduction of working hours to increase the sleeping hours of it workers. this suggestion seems unreasonable One would ask how will the company ensure that the workers will use that extra hour to sleep ? People do spend their time away from work differently, some use the time visit friends and families, read books. In short, there is no guarantee that reducing the number of working hours will increase the number of hours sleeping . unless there is a way to impose a rule and supervise the workers to make sure they use the extra hour to sleep, the proposal in not feasible. to validate the claim, the president needs to proof how the extra hour will be used to sleep.

in conclusion, the president's claims are based on unjustified claims that the amount of sleep is directly linked to the rate of accidents. The argument also rests of other unjustified assumption that reducing the amount of working hours will reduce the rate of accidents. In order to substantiate the claims, the presidents needs to show that the higher amount of accidents is a result of an extra hour of work and all other factors and working conditions are the same with the nearby Panlopy Company