Manager's memorundum

The memorundum presented by the manager of a television station is suggesting that, in order to increase their lost number of viwers, they have to restore local and weather news duration at late-night news program. The manager presented that they are receiving a lot of complaints about the decrease of weather and local news. But the manager's conclusion depends on three assumptions that cannot be verified with data he presented in the memorundum. If these ideas are not strengthened with reliable data, his argument becomes unwarranted.

First, the manager is thinking that the lost audience are due to the reduction of the duration of local news and weather forecast. But it doesn't necessarily has to be the reason. It is possible that there are a new interesting program launched in another local or national station. Or may be it could be the reason that people are now using smartphones which is allowing them to watch news at any time of the day, that's why they don't need to watch news at night like the old time. If any of these happens, the assumption of the manager becomes unproved, which directly proves his conclusition ineffective.

The second assumtion this manager made is that the buisinesses stopped advertising due to the decrease in the number of viewer. But how does he know? May be they don't even know that the number of viewer for the late-night news has been decreased in the last year. They are now may be interested in advertising on websites rather than telivisions. Or they have noticed late-night news had far less viewer than variety show of another station. Until the manager presents enough information to prove the correlation by presenting the reasons of the lost advertises directly collected from the advertisers, his assumption reamins faulty and seriously weakens his arguments.

Last but not the least, the manager is assuming that the people complained on decreased local and weather news made up a significant proportion of lost viewers. But it may be the case that these people are eager to watch those programs, that's why they complained. But there may be a lot of people who read the news on their phones now, so they don't need the news program at all. If it's the case, then inreasing local and weather news wouldn't be able to higher the number of viewers, rather they would need a new program which will attract viwers.

Though, it is possible that the decreased number of viewers is really the result of reduction of the duration of local and weather news, but that remains unproven until the manager presents evidential data to prove his weak assumptions. If the manager fails to do that, his conclusion remains unwarranted.