The manager of a television channel reports that there has been a reduction in the time of coverage of local and weather news in the late-night news broadcast for the past month. Most of the complaints from the viewers received by the channel concern local and weather news. Also, the local businesses have started to cancel their advertisement contracts for the late-night broadcasts. Restoring the coverage of local and weather news in the late-night broadcast will not only attract the viewers but also will prevent more local businesses from cancelling their advertisement contracts.

The business manager of the TV station claims that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news coverage will attract more viewers while retaining the advertising revenues which are already dwindling. This argument is flawed in a number of ways.

Firstly, the manager associates the majority of viewers' concerns about the station's weather and local news coverage directly to the decision to decrease the time of weather and local news coverage in the channel's late-night shows. There is no clarity in whether the complaints so received were actually due to the reduced time of weather and news coverage. The viewers complaints may have been due to the quality of the weather and local news rather than the reduced time devotion in the late-night broadcast. Also, there is no mention on whether the dedicated time for the weather and local news has increased or decreased at other hours of the channel's news broadcasts. Also, the number of complaints in this regard have not been quantified. Without a proper quantification of the number of complaints received and the reduction in the overall broadcast time devoted to weather and local news coverage, the manager's claim is simply unfounded.

On another point, the manager assumes that the advertising contracts made by local businesses relies on the amount of time the channel devotes to weather and local news broadcast. Without a trace of evidence to support this assumption, it is futile to make such an association. For the particular association to be even considered worthy of scrutiny, the manager should present some data. A survey of the local businesses who cancelled their advertising contracts with the channel maybe a preliminary piece of evidence. It will be crucial to discriminate and isolate the effect of reducing local news coverage from the coverage of the weather news in the late-night broadcast even if another assumption that local businesses are more likely to associate their advertising investments with local news coverage was considered to be true. If a survey establishes that the local businesses had actually turned away from the channel for reasons other than local as well as weather news coverage during the late-night news braodcast, it will establish that the manager's claim is severely unwarranted.

The manager should also have presented some evidence that the late-night viewers are generally interested in local news and weather news. Only if a survey of the viewers leads to a result that the viewers generally expect increased coverage of local and weather news in those hours will there be a ground to consider restoring the late-night coverage of the local and weather news. Even then, the assumption that the numbers of late-night viewers restored will lead to regaining lost advertisement revenues will have to be scrutinized separately: for one reason because the local businesses may or may not be able to recognize an increased number of viewers before they can restore their advertising contracts.