Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight

The letter provided to the editor of national aeronautics magazine concludes that we should invest our resources in unmanneed space flight as it involves lesser cost and risks. However, I found this argument to be fallacious in serveral aspects.

Firstly, letter says that manned space flight is costly and dangerous than unmanned space flight.

It has not mentioned what is the exact difference in terms of statstics. If there was a record of any accident

happened in the past with manned space flight, we could have believed that manned space flights are risky. However, no such incidence is mentinoned. Additionally, it is mentioned that manned space flights are costly than unmanned spaced flights but, it is not mentioned that if that extra cost really matters? What if the difference is really small but benefits are comparitively more in manned space flights? We just dont know.

Secondly, It is mentioned that unmanned space probes can be used to gather useful information rather than

using manned space flights. In cases where manual intervension is required to collect important information these space probes would fail or require robots to perform same task. This will increase cost and need to exclude idea of using unmanned space probes.

Additionally, it is not verifed that if the information collected by manned space flights can be collected by unmanned space probes. What if some information required can be collected by only manned space flights.

For examples, all the celestial bodies have programmed computers and chips incorporated in them. In cases where working of these program fails. There is a need of human to debug it. Although, these can be done from the ground but hardware defects might need manual intervasion.

While there are many reasons because of which statement given in the letter fails to justify why unmanned space probes are better. It could have been more clear if exact statstics of cost involved and risk was mentioned. Also examples were provided where unmanned space probes have done work done by manned space flights. Because of lack of evidence one cannot decide whether we should invest more resources in unmanned space flight.