Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

The author states that an unmanned space satellite is less risky and requires less amount of investment in its development. It may be true from the author's standpoint but there a few missing points which the author needs to clarify before directly jumping to the conclusion. The author in his claim says that a great deal of useful information can be amassed using the unmanned space flight. However, by mentioning "great deal" we cannot truly judge the value and the quantity of the information garnered. The author needs to provide a much more figurative comparison between the information collected by both of these space invading prototypes.

In addition to this, the author needs to confirm whether the so called useful information that was gathered by the unmanned satellite, was stated "useful" based on only a single space trip made by the satellite or multiple rounds of space trip. Because if the data was stated "useful" based on a single space trip, it may so happen that in the subsequent space trips the unmanned vehicle might send redundant data back to us because of lack of human decisive power to it. Thus, the author needs to mention the count of space trips used for comparing both the vehicles and only then can we accurately decide the freshness of the information.

Also, it is glaringly obvious that the unmanned satellite will have less risk associated with it because of lack of human pilot. But, we can't ignore the fact that the unmanned satellite is just a machine like any other, a set of electrical components intertwined together. It will be programmed to do certain designed steps and nothing outside the designed scope. And, however accurate a machine is designed, it will always have some flaws in it and tend to deviate from its designed path. If such a deviation can be set right by human intervention, the unmanned vehicle will surely be at a loss if something of this sort occurs and the entire mission might get compromised.

Furthermore, the author claims the unmanned vehicle to be less costly. However, the figures stating the amount saved are not mentioned. Also, it might so happen that the cost required to set up a new facility for unmanned satellite production will be much higher than the cost required for producing a manned satellite as such satellites already have an established production facility. Also, the existing scientists and engineers need to be cross trained or new ones need to be recruited, which will further increase the cost of unmanned satellite production.

Examining all the various angles involved with the unmanned space satellite, the argument does not justify to switch to the unmanned prototype right away. While, the claim does hint a possibility of the unmanned vehicles to come into action in near future, more information pertaining to the pointers mentioned in the argument will be required from the author's part.