Manned space mission are costly and involve huge amount of risk. The last few series of unmanned probes and satellites were able to gather quite relevant amount of data with lesser cost and risk. Hence funds should be allocated to develop unmanned missions. Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the letter disusses about the costs and danger involved in sending a man or women into space. He further goes on to claim that since a last few series of unmanned probes and satellites have demonstrated some success, with lower costs and risks; we should refrain from sending men or women to space and concetrate on unmanned space flight instead. However the author failed to properly connect his arguments and his arguments contain some inherent assumptions onwhich is conclusion is based.

it is not clear whether the unmanned probes were totally autonomous. it might occur that these unmanned probes needed some assistance from someone in space. For example, it might occur that these probes or satellites might only be controllable from the International space Station. In which case, sending men to space is essential to the deployment and success of the unmanned missions. The probes or landers to various planets or moon might not be manned but still they might require some interaction from space. this might occur if the earth's atmosphere dampens the signals from the probes or satellites.

we should also consider that the relevance and amount of useful gathered is vaguely given and not quantified. it is possible that one manned mission might be able to gather data that could be gathered only by several unmanned missions. unmanned missions are preprogrammed and can fail in case of unexpected findings but in case of a manned mission, the human on board can adapt to the situation and improvise accordingly.

also if the manned mission is able to gather more relevant data than several unmanned missions, it might occur that the cumulative costs associated with the unmanned mission might turn out to be less than the cumulative costs of the manned mission. In this case it makes more sense to deploy a manned mission if the technology for manned mission is developed.

we dont have any information about the similarity of unmanned and manned missions. it is very much possible that manned and unmanned missions are targeted for radically different objectives. it might occur that unmanned probes were send as a predecessor to the manned missions and to evaluate the possibilities of sending a man to space. thus we should be given the information on the objectives of the manned and unmanned missions.

it is also stated that we have been able to successfully carry out unmanned probes and satellites. thus, isn't it imperative that we devote more of our resources to develop technologies for manned missions rather than the already developed unmanned satellites? A fixed amount of resources can be allocated to dupliate the success of our previous missions, but the rest should go to developing new technologies and exploring new possibilities.

thus, from the above we can conclude that the argument of the author has various flaws which needs to be addressed inorder to be given a serious consideration. The success of the satellites should be quantified and the risks associated should be measured. The objectives of a manned and unmanned mission should be defined and compared, the proportion of findings and discoveries from a manned mission should be compared to an unmanned mission and thus their actual cost of discoveries can be calculated. Then we can take an educated decision whether the manned missions should be funded or not.