Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that it will be a bad decision to routinely administer inoculations against cow flu. This argument could be valid, but it is lacking in the following pieces of supporting evidence.

Are inoculations against cow flu, properly administered, a standalone cause of death? The writer assumes that cow flu inoculation, can be a sole case of death. It is quite possible that death caused by the inoculation is a result of overdose. The author didn't also consider the possibility that the cow flu vaccine may only lead to death in people with the disease, in which case, the immunization will not be deleterious to healthy people. Thus, if the author is able to carry out a research that would show that cow flu inoculation can be a sole cause of death, his argument would be better strangthened.

Will the absence of vaccination save more lives than the presence of it? If the inoculations are not routinely administered, many lives might be lost, as stated by the author. However, he goes on to state that it is better eschew inoculation. By doing this, he assumes that we can save more lives than will be lost to cow flu. Thus, the author will need to provide proof that a routine admistration will lead to more deaths than a lack of prevention.

In conclusion, this argument is flawed because it is precariously based on spurious assumptions. However, if the writer is able to provide the supporting evidences as stated above, it might be able to strengthen his position that we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.