Mayor Switzer has been the mayor of Auburn for the last year and a half. In the last year, crime rates have gone up, unemployment has increased and many businesses have moved out of town. Voting mayor Switzer out will help solve Switzer’s crime problem, will help create jobs and will prevent businesses from having to move.

How would you rate the accuracy of the above statement? Support your position with reasons and examples.

The argument that the mayor Switzer who has been in power for one and half a year in the town of Auburn has become a pivotal reason in the raise of the crime rates and depletion of the employability rates, is not actually backed with solid evidence.The proposed claim seems to be naive and needs more supporting evidences before drawing the conclusion.

First it is reported that the city of Auburn's employability rate started dwindling when the mayor is in power. But without statistics that provide the actual figures or information it will not be appropriate to draw the conclusion that the employability rate went subpar in the town. There can be multiple outside factors that might have hampered the employability rates:one such case is the ongoing pandemic covid-19 where most of the companies struggled to make a appreciable profit and thereby were put in an unforeseen situation like never before that led to the pay cut and that resulted in the mass layoff of the employees. Without proper knowledge in the statistics of the present or past employability rate and the external influence of the town that migh have affected the job prospect in the town, we can not jump to the conclusion that the mayor Switzer must be held accountable.

Second when talking about the crime rates, proper justification of the type of crime and the time/place of the crime event that took place, also in addition to that whether there have been repeated crime rates that started showing up or is it like a one big crime that shook the entire town recently.There can be occasions like the town might have hosted or be in a part of a big religious or regional festival that could have attracted a vast variety of foreigners and there could have been the possibilty of the crimes reported during the festivals. May be through investigation, the caught guilt might have originated or visited the town Auburn from outside. If this is the case then the town Auburn would be attributed to false claim of being a place that serves as the breeding grounds for the criminals. Lack of clarity about the crime rate and the type of criminal cases that the city encountered, does not help in supporting the statement.Also it is stated that the companies/business are shifting their places but provides no information about the type of business that decided to migrate and what are the total business or companies that earlier has been functionable in the town, there could be cases where a multiple less profit business might have migrated from the town. So the claim about the 'business moving away from the town' needs to be supported with relevant information about the business type,the profit made by each individual company, reason for opting out and the number of business that are moving out.

Third case there could have been a personal hatred to the maryor-in-power and thus might have led to the spread of false propoganda either by the mayor's political foe or by the people of certain groups who refute the mayor to remain in the power. Also this raises yet another important speculation about all the claims made. There could have been the cases like the media or the press run by the opposite power might have deliberately acted to belie the state of the current mayor.

If the proper evidence backed with solid information is presented, then we could have made an appropriate stand about the claim that was made but without any data or evidence it becomes difficult to completely agree to the statement.