“Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora’s citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora’s citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made

citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year’s unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the magazine claims that there is a little to no relation between computer usage and physical fitness, and instead attributes the decline in health to the poor economy. Upon closer inspection however, it is clear that such an argument is built upon layers of false and weak assumptions, and does not hold water if any of them are proven false by extra evidence.

The author first states that computer usage does not lead to a decrease in fitness, citing statistics that overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership is also the highest. The first flaw of this argument comes from the assumption that ownership numbers directly correlates with usage. High ownership of computers may not necessarily imply high usage of those computers, the key factor which experts would normally associate with the drop in fitness, especially when the identities of the owners along with the purposes those computers serve is still unknown. Schools, colleges and work places, for example tend to own disproportionately large quantities of desktops for educational and productivity purposes, with limited shared usage of each computer among students and staff. On the other hand, most individual households tend to own very few computers for personal use, but the extent of usage is also much higher as a result. Therefore, more evidence and background regional information on those statistics would be required to justify this assumption in order to draw the link that increased computer usage would not lead to lower fitness, as there is a clear discrepancy in ownership in between work and home districts.

Building on top of the previous assumption is the fallacy that higher fitness levels along with higher computer usage in the same area would definitely imply a weak link between the two, with no other factors possibly affecting the trend as well. Another case could be that places with higher ownership also tend to be more affluent, since they were able to afford more computers. This means that they could also better afford gym memberships and healthier diets that could offset the negative effects of the higher computer usage. This means that the detrimental effects originally stated by the experts could still exist, and was only obscured by other factors that were not properly taken into account. Therefore, without more statistics on these other factors that could help isolate the issue, this assumption is not properly justified.

The author has also directly assumed that the recent decline in economy is the chief reason behind the unusually lower expenditure on fitness related products and services, and brushed off the decline in fitness as a temporary, ephemeral phenomenon that fades with time as the economy improves. However, without any proper surveys of the population on the reasons behind their lower expenditure this could only remain as speculation. Many other unseen factors such as shifts in cultural paradigms, along with the rise of new popular social media websites could have also led to such a drastic change. Besides, it is also based on another assumption that the only way to keep fit is to spend more on fitness products, when there could possibly be many other ways to stay fit, either through more exercise, or as the experts say, cutting down on computer usage to have more time to do so. If that is true, it would mean that a poor economy may not necessarily mean that people would be less fit, and it also most certainly does not rule out computer usage as a factor behind the decrease in fitness.

All in all, the argument is constructed upon incomplete evidence and shaky foundations, and more evaluation and evidence would be required to strengthen it.