Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

The prompt suggests that, bone fractures are symptomatic and also the study shows that consumption of milk and milk products may actually increase the risk of osteoporosis rather than decrease it. It is because a long-term study of large number of people found that consumption of dairy product evidently increased the rate of bone fracture. However, before this prompt is properly evaluated some questions must be answered.

Firstly, the author states that dairy products only contain the Vitamin-D and calcium, which helps in the building and maintaining of bone, where as there are other essential nutrients as well in dairy products that helps in the formation and strengthen of bone. Also, author states that osteoporosis is either innate or environmental that it increases with the age. So, something that is bound to happen in future and associated with the age can rarely be prevented just by taking in the dairy products.

Secondly, the author presents us with a 'long-term' study. And, has not provided us the specific time line or the duration of the research. So, it is obscure information and reliability of research is itself questionable. In addition to that the author has not provided the full detail on the research conducted. As, is not clear that if the research was conducted specifically for finding solution for osteoporosis or the bone fracture from some other cause or due to osteoporosis. As, osteoporosis bone getting fragile whereas fracture is bone being broken.

Lastly, the study that is conducted has not provided itself with the proper information, as it included participants, which could be voluntary or either survey was conducted we do not know. We have no information on the details of the participants and the location of the participants. As, it could be that the survey was taken of the patient, who have just suffered bone injury and were regular consumer of the dairy product. It also could be that the data collected fortuitously consist of the people who have prior bone fracture experience.

In conclusion, the recommendation as it stands, has many flaws in it, due to its reliance on the unwarranted assumption. If author could provide us with additional information and answer our questions then its reliability can be evaluated.