In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Art is a subjective matter when it comes to likes and dislikes. It's different forms like film, music, novel and poem have made it easy for and induvidual to express their feelings, views and logics to existing situation and their individual thoughts. The prompt suggests that art has merit when it is understandable by the most. I mostly disagree with the statement and argue that art has is's merit even when it is not understandable by the most fpr the followinf three reasons.

Art is a medium for expression. So, it is no important to understand the art to relish it. Bouncing back to 2010-2011 there was this singer from korea-PSY, who came up with the song Gangnam Style and broke all the records that existed before is release. Although, the song was in Korean language, a laymen with little or no understanding of Korean could enjoy the song. As the visuals were too good and funny. Moreover, is case of stand up comedy would you feel good and fun when you have to struggle to understand the joke. As most of the audience laugh as others are laughing.

Similarly, it enjoyment and personal interest has nothing to do with understanding. In art galleries of Italy and France, when a first timer tourist visits they despite of not knowing what is potrayed. The just go there to see famous scluptures-that the history has declared to be indespensible. a

Some might argue that art without undestanding serves no purpose. For an instance, presenter in comedy show has to incisive while creating the humour: moreover if the audience has to think too hard to understand then the joke, is of no importance.

In conclusion, in some cases the understanding of art might be good, but, mostly it must be able to the deliver the feelings of creator despite it being of any language or culture.