Most companies would agree that as the risk of physical injury occurring on the job increases, the wages paid to employees should also increase. Hence it makes financial sense for employers to make the workplace safer: they could thus reduce their payroll expenses and save money.

The argument claims that most companies would agree that as the risk of physical injury occurring on the job increases, the wages paid to employees should also increase. Here the author makes a conclusion that the above statement makes financial sense for employers to make the workplace safer and thus they could reduce their payroll expenses and in turn save money

First,the argument assumes that all the injuries occurring on the job is due to the less safe workplace. What if the injury was occurred due to the careless nature of employee inspite of all safe workplace. For example, the employee would have operated a machine while using his mobile phone and got hurt. Hence without proper evidence on the nature of occurrence of the injury, the author fails to provide a concrete evaluation.

Secondly, the author mentions that most companies would agree. However he does not mentioned the type of companies which had responded to the poll. The author fails to provide this information which is key to evaluate the argument. For instance, the manufacturing sector or the construction sector would probably agree the argument whereas the IT sector or consultancy sector would disagree with the conclusion. Had the author gave some insights to the above flaw, his line of reasoning could have been substantiated well.

Finally, the author simply assumes that companies can simply save money by making workplace safer. No evidence was stated against this line of reasoning. There could be an instance where making and maintaining the workplace safe involves more money than increase in wages for employees. Had the author evaluate those situation before arriving at the conclusion for all employers.

In conclusion, the author fails to provide evidence for his reasoning. The argument is flawed and unconvincing. The argument could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the above relevant factors which are essential to asses the given argument.