"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that he or she would recommend investment in Consolidate Industries because of increasing demand according to reasons mentioned in the argument. However, some musing over evidence is first very much in order before taking any steps.

First of all, the writer suggests that climate forecasters predict the cold weather pattern will continue for several more years. Still, the credential of evidence regarding the capability of the weather reporter is not presented and we don't know if the report has the capability to make weather prediction or not. It is possible that he just graduate from university as a freshman in broadcast field and this is his first time to present future weather trend. If the case is true, then the argument is barely to claim the credibility of the increasing demand of the oil in the future and the investment would be risky.

Secondly, the author claims that people in northeastern United State conventionally use oil as main fuel for heating. Nevertheless, the future trend of heating energy source is not offered. It is possible that the electricity become more and more popular as a major energy source to heat home instead of oil because the heating electronics are getting more and more efficient than oil and it costs less compared to oil. If it is true, then the oil investment is barely to claim its expected performance. Therefore, the author is recommended to offer the future contribution of the electricity heating possibility and to compare with that of oil.

Finally, the writer proposes that many new houses are being built in the region in response to population growth. It seems to imply that the heating demand would increase. Still, the loss of population of the region is unknown and needs to be presented. Perhaps, there are more people leaving the region even there is population growth. The overall population decreases rather than increases considering more population loss because the neighbor city offers jobs with higher salary. If it is true, then the demand of the heating energy will drop and the persuasiveness of the argument is weakened. Thus, the author must provide the detailed of population gain and loss to make the argument more cogent.

In conclusion, the readers could not believe in the content of the argument unless the evidence mentioned is offered.