A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

"We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don't get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure."

Though the memo does raise few vital points pertaining to the shortcomings of the movie shooting, and possible ways in which he or she can bring a change; the argument provided in the memo in itself is a controversial one, of which, would be explained, in two points, as following.

Firstly, the writer of the memo largely doubts the skills of the director of the movie "Working Title". It is humane to make such an assumption, given the inexperienced background of the director of the movie. But, it would be more prudent to make more observations, and provide more proof as to why the director would be unsuitable for the job. We are surrounded by a large example of successful people in the movie industries, such as the kind of Christopher Nolan, Christian Bale, and many more, which have really hit the jackpot in their first movies itself. Some might call it "beginners luck." It'd be foolish to make an assumption doubting the skills of a person withour proper analysis of his or her skills. Analysing more deeply, the prejudiced belief against advertisement business, of how they are "notoriously wasteful", does forms a biased and unfair opinion against the director of the movie. This questions the validity of the memo in the core itself. And if so, supposedly, that the movie producer is able to provide enough proof that truly the director is unfit for the task, the question remains as to why the increase in funding is neccessary? As stated in the memo, the movie producer desires to hire "inexperienced" assistant producers and directors, in place of an "inexperienced" movie director. This method seems illogical, and controversial in itself, and the movie producer would have to do an arduos task in explaining as to why he wishes to do so.

Secondly, the assumption that the hiring of the assistant producers and directors will translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew for overtime for the extra time they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers in arranging things, might be improbable too. It is not neccessary that the assistant directors and the producers work parallely and seperately. It can be so that they work as one team, thus helping eradicate the waste of time and money. Movies are produced in a team. Without proper harmony and sync between the actors, the crew, the director and the producer, it is not probable that the movie would be a good one. Thus, rather than creating such an athmosphere, where the actors and the crew will have do the same job again for the assistant directorand producer, it is prudent that the producer creates a more team-friendly athmosphere.

Stated against the argument in the memo, two reasons are provided in that has to be questioned critically by the movie studio head, regarding the decesion he would have to take for the movie "Working Title". While the arguments stated, seems logical, they are self-contradicting in itself, and requires further analysing.