A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

"We need to increase the funding for the movie working title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a First-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commericals for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don't get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure".

The argument by the movie producer that increasing the funding for the stated movie is paramount to ensuring delivery of a quality product is flawed as the conclusion rests on some assumptions that are not logically sound.

First, the argument makes a gross oversimplification on the ability of the producers to deliver effectively by making claims to their nascent experience which necessarily does not translate to poor performance on the movie production as insinuated by the movie producer. Why does the movie producer hastily make a sweeping generalization about the wastefulness of the advertising industry without making a case to the director about how solvent they are and the need to work within the budget they would delineate? The argument presents the director as someone that would act arbitrarily without deference for what the movie owners would like to see in their movie.

Also, the argument projects that funding is the real deal in achieving the projection of a successful movie. By doing so, the movie producer assumes that once funding is increased, this would translate to a quality movie. He fails to factor in several considerations that the success of a movie is hinged upon. How would the movie release be viewed by teeming consumers? What would be their feedback on the movie quality and how much is it expecting to rake in the global box office? These are all questions that the unstated assumptions fail to answers?

Lastly, while the length of shooting the movie might necessarily not be insidious, the producer posits that the actor's and unionized crew waiting time would present a strain on their expenditure and therefore a need for increased funding. While this me a thoughtful recourse to follow, the producer also neglects how impactful the actors might be in delivering their jobs. What efforts are being made that the right cast is being employed in order to prevent a botched job?

In conclusion, the conclusion that increased funding would ensure a quality product is unfounded due to the critiques of the stated and unstated assumptions in the preceding paragraphs. Ultimately, the argument would have been strengthened by making a whole scale assessment of what contributes to the success of a movie rather than relying on a causal link between increased funding translating into the movie success.