A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previou

The movie producer's argument to increase the movie's budget by 10% to ensure a quality product, considering working with first- timers is spurious on various ground and his assumptions are unsubstantiated.

Initially, it is presumed that the new director, whose only previous experience is in shooting commercials for a shampoo company, is also profligate as the advertising business is supposed to be. However, he may not be one of those directors that preferred extravagance. Also, there is a possibility that he is very efficient and may even be frugal in shooting the film that it will be finished in lesser budget than initially allocated for the movie. In addition, the directors may know the difference in the movie and advertising business and how the numbers work in both the areas. The producer underrates the director’s intellect and efficacy making this claim unsound.

Secondly, the movie producer posits that since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, the movie requires an additional budget that will suffice the director's need to be able to shoot take after take. Here, the producer has failed to take into account that even though advertising companies are prodigal, the shampoo company may not be that financially well placed to support squandering of resources and that the director has produced a fine quality of work within the scanty resources he got. The failure of writer to consider these factors renders this claim unjustified.

Lastly, the writer proffers that they have hired relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors and that this savings in salary will help them in the expenditures for the extra hours. However, the author is underestimating the caliber of these new assistant producers and directors and they might be more efficient than the producer actually deems them to be. More so, it is said that they are relatively inexperienced, meaning they have a certain amount of experience and they might be actually good then the producer thinks causing this claim to be fallacious

Therefore, on the basis of above mentioned fallacies, the argument that the movie Working Title requires and additional funding of 10% to ensure a quality product is not compelling enough to prove what it was set out for.