The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

________________________________________

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

As they say that "Ignorance is Bliss." Is it really true? Does anyone have ever led to comprehend something by rejecting any knowledge or familiarity with the subject? Many of us would say no. I would say that familiarity is the key to self knowledge. It is actually what is required to know one's true self and how it functions in certain situations. One could fathom from the behavioral and cognitive responses, made in certain situations that reveal the true self and increase the understanding of their own true self.

Reflecting on behavioral response made in certain situation, like being upset when someone pillories you or is angry with you for the reason you do not know makes you feel at unease and this familiarity of emotions you feel disconcert you and helps you wonder why the person is feeling that way and what has led him/her say such things and if you have not said or done anything wrong then why does that disconcert you. It is this awareness of emotions that makes you discern the reason why. Also, when you wonder that you always make a certain response in similar situations may lead you to wonder why it is always the same.

Like the behavioral response, the mind always have a similar way of perceiving things and people. For example, one would go to the same restaurant and orders the same meal every time because they like that particular dish. Or that buying the same type of shirts in a store based on your liking. These familiarities, may or may not be pointed by someone, makes people wonder about the structure they intentionally or unintentionally follow and may guide them towards self affinity.

All in all, the identical behavioral and cognitive responses in identical situations may be triggers for finding out the true knowledge of oneself, because familiarity actually guides you to the unknown. The question of why assist us in seeing why not and that rejecting it might not be beneficial in the discovery of self.