To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It would not be wrong to say that leaders and other public figures like movie stars and motivational speakers impact the common populace deeply. People watch them and try to follow their attributes and incorporate them in their daily lives. This admiration of people lay a huge responsibility on the shoulders of these officials to try and maintain the moral and ethical decorum so as to be admired and affect the people in order to lead them on the right path. So, in order to do so they must sustain the highest standards ethically and morally. One could reflect upon the examples of The Movie Stars and the Roman Emperor Caligula in order to understand this phenomenon.

Movie or TV actors have a huge fan base all around the world. It is the love and affection of peoples that they get praised and rise to the level of importance. And it is also these fans that try follow their footsteps and adopt habits, whether good or bad, in every walk of life. Be it emulating them in dialect, having the same hair style or wearing clothes that are alike. However, since they adore them so much they espouse their bad habits too like smoking, doing drugs, abusing and so on. Movie personalities should be aware of the fact that whatever they endorse is immediately followed by their fan bases. So, it is their duty to maintain a certain amount of dignity in their actions, both morally and ethically.

Another example of the leader is Emperor Caligula of Rome, who was renowned for his vice and debauchery. It is said that he was a sexual deviant and depravity was his other name. But he was an effective leader when it came to matters of state and the empire. However, people followed his lead and did all the things he used to do. The whole empire indulged in salacity and lechery because their leader endorsed it openly.

To conclude, I believe that public officials, no matter how they are, are anyway very effective and have a strong hold on people. So a leader must hold and preserve high moral and ethical standard so that the ordinary and lay people could follow their leads to get on the right track.