A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo sent to the head of the movie studio by a producer argues that the movie 'Working Title' is assured to be a failure if the studio does not increase the funding by 10 percent. The producer cites several reasons such as first-time director, savings due to inexperienced assistant producers would translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and the time spent on shooting a scene. The producer makes several unwarranted assumptions and if he does not provide reasonable explanations for the following three assumptions would severely hamper the persuasiveness of the argument.

First, the producer assumes that since the director does not have experience shooting a movie and has only been shooting commercials, the director might waste the time taken to shoot a scene. Perhaps, the director although inexperienced in movies, had plenty of techniques in his arsenal and is adept in shooting a scene. It is possible that the director might think of each scene as a commercial and would quickly wrap up the scene as he has plenty of experience in shooting the same scene countless times to perfection. If that is the case, the director would not waste time but because of his experience would save a lot of time even surpassing an arguably less experienced movie director. It is also possible that what applies to the majority of the directors who are notoriously wasteful on their advertising business, does not apply to this director. If either of these scenarios were to happen, the producers claim that the movie would become a failure does not hold water as the director is experienced and hence skillful enough to make the movie a success.

Another one of the assumptions is that, hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and director would save money that can be translated to greater expenditures in paying the actors and the crew for the extra hours they spend on the set. The author does not specify the relativeness of the pay and expenditure. Perhaps the extent of relativity is more than 10000 dollars, i.e, the studio saves 10000 dollars because of the relatively less experienced assistant producers and directors. If that is the case, the studio would be able to pay the actors and the crew for their work overtime without the 10 percent increase desired by the producer. The producer must provide more information regarding how much the inexperienced producers and directors receive and how much the actors and their crew charge for overtime work. And if the savings do not exceed the money saved due to the hiring of the inexperienced assistant producers and directors, the producer's claim that the movie will be a failure if the studio does not increase their funding by 10 percent is specious.

Finally, one of the most glaring assumptions is that the actors spend time waiting for the inexperienced assistant producers and directors to arrange things. Perhaps, the assistant producers and directors, arrange the set before the actors arrive and hence there is no waiting time for the actors and the crew. If that is the case no additional cost is incurred as a result of the thoughtfulness of the assistant producers and directors and hence invalidates the claim of the producer.

In sum, the producer makes several unjustified assumptions for his claim and the argument as it stands now, is unwarranted. The producer must provide more details about the expenditure of the movie, the experience of the director and the inexperienced assistant producers and directors actions, in order to vindicate his claim.