Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument claims that Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors so that their graduates can secure better jobs. In order to justify this claim the author cites how overall grades have increased because of the students’ evaluating their professors and how these grades are perceived by potential employers. The author makes several assumptions to validate his claim and if he does not provide further evidences regarding the following two assumptions, would severely hamper the persuasiveness of his claim.

First, students of Omega University have been evaluating their professors on their teaching and delivery of lectures ever since the new procedure was implemented 15 years ago. It is possible that the students can provide a good or bad feedback and also maybe write a review on how the professor can improve on their teaching. Maybe the students’ identified flaws and were able to correct the professors so that they can grasp the content of a lecture better. It is possible that it was because the student’s complained about their inability to perceive what the professor is teaching that the grades of the student’s lacked greatly then as compared to now, which could have prompted the university to implement the students’ feedback procedure. If this is the case, the students’ grades actually improved because the professors heeded the advice from the students and modified their teaching pattern to better suit the grasping ability of the students. If this indeed happened, then the students learned better than they did previously and hence scored a better grade which explains the high grades of students in Omega University mentioned by the author and hence his claim does not hold water. The author has to provide evidence that the students’ feedback did nothing to improve the professor’s delivery or increase the student’s ability to learn better and also maybe justify that students’ feedback might have been flattering the professors and as a result, the professors became lenient and gave higher grades.

Second, the author cites potential employers not recruiting students of Omega University because they believe that the grades are inflated. It is possible that potential employers heard of a rumour that were specifically targeting Omega University as a result of their increase in performance levels and hence decided to not recruit from the university. It is also possible that the decision making authority had an option to choose Omega University or Alpha university but he had a bias towards Alpha university and cited the reason of the rumour about inflated grades to justify his decision. If that is the case, the author’s claim to terminate the student evaluation of professors is based on spurious reasoning. The author must provide solid evidence on why potential employers decided to not recruit graduates from Omega University and also justify his claim by providing evidence that relates student evaluation on professors with grades and as a result affected the companies recruitment decision.

In conclusion, the argument of the author as it stands now rests on several assumptions. The author has to provide strong evidence perhaps in the form of a survey about how a professor’s emotions play a role on his evaluation of students’ grades. He also has to justify that the potential employer’s decision is because of the inflation and not some spurious case of bias or rumour. Thus, the argument as it stands now, is fallacious and the author needs to provide further evidence to vindicate his claim.