A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Civil rights establish and represent the humane nature of the society. Under no condition should one's civil rights be deprived from him. The prompt claims that we should remove the civil rights and the right to benefit from his or her own labor if he or she has knowingly committed a crime by breaking social contracts. I strongly disagree with the claim and argue that even if a person knowingly commits a crime, he is still human and should be treated with the respect and civility that corresponds to us humans.

In most cases, a person who knowingly commits a crime must have an underlying fundamental reason for why he committed the crime. Take a poor worker who stole money from his employer, for instance. The worker, compared to his employer has a lower social standing. He could have had financial problems or maybe one of his close relative is sick and is in desperate need of money to pay his hospital bills. If he does not have the money he could have gone to some bank to borrow money or even could have asked his employer for help. The chances of him getting a loan from the bank is low as the bank also takes into consideration the ability of an individual to repay. In the case that his employer also refused, he is now driven to commit a crime. As a result, he knowingly commits the crime to steal money to pay the hospital bills. If instead the employer had given him money, the worker, perhaps would not have committed the crime. Now, the worker committed the crime to save a life and although that does not justify his crime, he should still not be deprived of his civil rights or the right to benefit from his own work after his time in prison. This example is not constricted to only a poor person. Anyone who is driven to desperate measures because of things which are out of their reach would probably commit a crime.

Perhaps, an example of a self defense murder would be more appropriate for this claim. For instance, let us take. a women who hit her abusive husband and inadvertently caused his death. Her husband could have been hitting her on a daily scale for the past so many years, perhaps. She could have probably reached her limit of tolerance and in an instant decided to push back. The husband could have been surprised by the unusual nature of the wife and could have slipped and hit his head causing a stroke which could have led to his death. She could have run out of the house scared by the husband's revenge on her actions. In this case, the women who was already in a pitiful state is further introduced into the turbulence of murder and law. She is still human and still holds her good side. Perhaps, she would have been good if not for an accidental moment. This does not mean that she should be deprived of her civil rights. She could probably serve her sentence or if she gets a good lawyer who defends her case well, she might be cleared of her blames. If the former happens, she would serve her sentence and come out to live among the society. The law itself is in support of a criminal's civil rights and would allow her to continue to live among the society as long as she does not commit another crime.

In conclusion, a person who knowingly commits a crime and breaks social contract, often times does it in a moment of desperation and should not be deprived of his civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her labor. Doing so would make them consider even more aggressive crimes which would be deleterious to the society.