Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above passage it is concluded that the Nature's Way franchise in the town of Plainsville is going to be very successful. The author supports his conclusion by citing that the residents of plainsville lead healthy lives. However, the conclusion drawn by the author might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated dramatically undermine the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three assumptions must be addressed with sound evidence

First, the author assumes that, sales of running shoes and exercise clothing is definite indicator of healthy lives. It might be the case that the sales are high due to reasons other than the residents leading healthy lives. For instance, maybe the exercise clothing and shoes are breathable and comfortable in the hot and humid climate of the town. It is also possible that the sales could have shot up due to a stock clearance sale, which would have encouraged the residents to purchase the heavily discounted clothing. If either of the above scenario's hold water, then the author's conclusion is significantly undermined.

Secondly, the author assumes the reason behind the local health club having more members than ever and that the aerobics and weight training classes being full as the residents leading healthy lives without any basis. It might be the case that the reason those classes are full is due to other reasons. Perhaps, the batch size is too small, maybe of only around 4 odd people. It can also be the case the health club has had only a marginal increase in its membership of maybe only around 2 people. If the above scenario's prove true, then the conclusion drawn by the author is significantly weakened

Finally, the author assumes that the fitness for life program would encourage school children to leading healthy lives and that these children would stay at plainsville in the future also. It might be the case that this program might not be effective, and that the students would not be persuaded to adopt regular exercise emphasized in the program. Perhaps, it is also possible that most of the students of this school might end up migrating to a different state or country in the future, undermining the author's assumption that these students would become potential customers for this plainsville franchise. It either of the above instances hold merit, then the conclusion drawn by the author does not hold water.

In conclusion, it is possible that the new Nature's way franchise in plainsville is a success. However, the argument as it stands now is significantly weakened due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. The author must provide compelling evidences to validate his assumptions before this argument can be properly evaluated and it can concluded that opening the franchise in plainsville will be a success.