Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly, Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the above article, the author states that opening a new outlet of Nature’s Way in Painesville will turn out the most beneficial store. The people of Painesville are keen about their health, thus they can turn out to be an affluent customer base. At first instance, the author's argument seems to be convincing, but it may fall apart due to some premature assumptions made. Nature’s Way’s attempt to run a successful business in Painesville may fail if the detailed analysis of the three questions is not carried out.

First of all, what is the definition of “Healthy Lives”? There is no insight provided into the demography of Painesville. In order to define Healthy Lives as led by the residents, the author should have given us the census of the population over a period of time and average mortality rate. Also, a comparison is to be made between the average life span of the people living in the other geographical region and the people of Painesville. Moreover, if the people are essentially obligated towards healthy lives, there is a possibility of a well-established market of ‘health food’ in Painesville, which will naturally cause competition and impact direct sales of Nature’s Way, leading to dwindling profits. If either of the scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in the original argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are on its peak, this sudden change in the sales might be due to the lucrative seasonal discounts provided by the vendors in order to clear the old stock. Also, as the Sports shoes are the most comfortable in hilly areas(such as Painesville), for people to commute, people in Painesville possibly tend towards purchasing them. The fallacious reasoning based on the skyrocketing sales data might mislead the franchise owner giving them the wrong insights. If this is the case the conclusion drawn by the author in the article is significantly weakened.

Finally, even if the school children are participating in the fitness-for life program, the author prematurely assumes that these children will take a healthy diet. Instead, the school kids are generally advised to have a regular diet in addition to the exercise. The health food, which has high proteins, crabs, etc, sold by Nature’s Way is mostly consumed by the bodybuilder and the trainers. Thus if Nature’s Way is taking the decision, considering school children as a cause of their sales(as stated in the article) and if the above is true, then the argument losses its credit.

In conclusion, the article, as it stands now is considerably flawed, due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above questions and offer more evidence(perhaps in form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the proposed recommendation of setting up a new franchise of Nature’s Way in Painesville.