Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author concludes that a new Nature’s Way franchise in Plainsville will prove to be very commercially successful, based on a few observations of the population of Plainsville. The author states that the Nature’s Way franchises are successful in areas where residents lead healthy lifestyles, and then assumes that the Plainsville population is such based on three behaviors and/or characteristics. Two key assumptions are: increased sports apparel correlates to other lifestyle choices, health club enrollment indicates general population lifestyle choices, and that school programs will influence the consumer behavior behaviors of children and that children are a significant market. The author assumes these things to be true without providing adequate evidence for them, thereby basing his or her argument on unsubstantiated premises.

The first premise of the author’s argument is that Plainsville merchants report running shoe and exercise clothing sales to be at all time highs, assuming that this indicates a potential market for the Nature’s Way franchise. This assumption leaves unanswered questions as to the critical reasons for increased sales. For example, increased sales could be due to an increase in popularity in running shoes and sports apparel in popular culture and fashion, thereby representing a stronger interest in fashion rather than health and exercise on the part of consumer and not necessarily a market for Nature’s Way. Another assumption within this premise is that increased sales is due to increased demand by the consumers, rather than, say, increased availability, sales promotions, or other market factors that may exist independently of the consumer’s interest in creating a healthy lifestyle. The author fails to include context for the increased sales, while assuming that it translates to a market for Nature’s Ways products.

The second premise of the author’s argument is that health club enrollment is at an all time high and fitness classes are always full, thereby indicating a potential market for Nature’s Way by assuming that these same consumers will be customers at the franchise. Again, this assumption ignores the critical reasons for these consumer behaviors, assuming that they stem from an interest in healthy lifestyles. However, when we ask why these enrollment numbers are at a high, we might find that they are due to reasons that can be construed as independent of a consumer’s holistic interest in personal wellness, such as special promotions, or specific times of year where health clubs typically see higher enrollment, such as after New Year’s and the season of making personal, yet short-lived, resolutions. As for the full enrollment in classes, we are not privy to how large these classes actually are, and if their capacity is actually quite limited and that is why they are consistently full Finally, embedded in the author’s reasoning is an assumption that participating in exercise correlates to the way people eat and grocery shop, which is not substantiated by the evidence provided.

In conclusion, the author makes an argument that Nature’s Way will find success by opening a franchise in Plainsville based on consumer trends in the area and assuming that these trends will correlate to other consumer behaviors. The author does not substantiate the reasons for these correlations with evidence, thereby leaving their validity open to interpretation. The consumer behaviors cited- exercise apparel purchasing and gym enrollment- could be due to other factors that are independent of the consumer’s overall interest in health and wellness, specifically food and grocery shopping.