Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of this argument who indicates that Nature’s way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, should be very successful with next franchise in Plainsville provides interesting clues, but to move forward on the argument need further information and thought. While the clues seem to be logical, the argument rife with hole and assumption, and thus, it is not convincing enough to lead to the conclusion.

Firstly, the author indicates that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs in Plainsville. Thus, he/she believes that the next franchise in Plainsville will be very successful. It is not clearly, however, the thought of the author. I mean that, the argument does not imply what kind of item was sold in Nature’s Way store. For example, if the franchise sells neither running shoes nor exercise clothing, they only sell health products like protein milks or vitamin drugs. Thus, there is nothing involve between all-time highs products in Plainville and franchise’s products. In summary, the evidence of the author lost some key factors, so the author fails to connect between franchise’s product and all-time highs products in Plainville.

Secondly, base on the fact that there are numerous of members in local health club, weight training and aerobics classes, the author believes on the success of next franchise in Plainsville. However, he fails to justify this evidence. I mean that once many people in Plainsville go health club, apparently, Plainsville has had many health product stores which may be has been successful. Thus, I do not know whether the next franchises of Nature’s Way can compete with them or not. Indeed, if the author should implement into his argument how a good deal of health products stores have located in Plainsville and how the next franchise can compete with them to become success, I strongly believe that his/her argument will become more clearly and convincing.

Thirdly, the author uses that Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers to prove his conclusion. Which is too early, as for me. According to Harvard University’s research in 2013, the habit of people can change from two to three years. Thus, not surely to confirm that Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers. Overall, the author cannot base on changeable evidence to conclude surely.