"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the prompt, it is contented that the restriction of maximum water flow will increase the profit of the Sunnyside Corporation. It might be true. But before the conclusion is truly assessed, the three questions on which the conclusion is based on must be answered. Otherwise, the conclusion might not hold water.

Firstly, does it ensure that lower water pressure will result in lower spending in water quantity? It might be possible that people of the residents will now keep the tap for longer period of time. In that process they might consider that as water is flowing at lower rate, the are spending less waer. Their excess water usages may remain unnoticed. If it is the case, then the water usages will not decrease and the possibility of increased profit will be seriously lessened.

Secondly, Will the residents of the Corporation welcome the change? For instance, If they do not like the lower water pressure, they might consider changing their rented apartment to leave. If this happens, many apartments will be vacant and the profit may subsequently fall instead of increasing.

Finally, is it necessary that lower water usages will bring profit to the corporation? It might not always true that lower cost of any particular sector of a business will increase the profit of business. It is possible that, the above measure stated in the prompt will decrease the water usages and decrease the amount of water consumption. But cost of other sector might increase in in the process. For example, they might use some advance technology in their daily chores which require lower water but increase the energy consumption. If it is the case, then the conclusion drawn by the prompt may not be true.

In conclusion, the argument in the prompt is based on three unwarranted assumptions. If further proof is provided perhaps in the form of research study, then the viability of the conclusion can be properly assessed. So, without further evidence is provided, the conclusion cannot be properly assessed.