One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument recommends that the Bargain Brand produces other low-priced food product, since in the production of low-cost cereal; it precedes other top-selling cereal companies. This argument fails to mention several key factors by which it could be evaluated. Hence, the argument is unconvincing.

A threshold presumption is that since the other top-selling companies are not able to compete with the Bargain Brand in any way, the company should increase its prices to make more profit. However, it is a facial assumption; inasmuch as the article did not mention to the statistic related to the income and cost of the Bargain Brand and the others counterpart companies. Maybe, the main reason of the company's profit is its trivial little cost in contrast to the other companies, and if it increases more than the current value, it will not as cost-effective as it was before the price increment. In this case, the company will lose its potential in appealing the consumers, and other top brands attract the customers by their better quality. The argument could have been much fortified if it explicitly stated that what is its profit in comparison to the other companies’ profits.

Second, the argument claims that the company should expand its production based on its current success. However, the term of success is a vague term. There is no any concrete definition for the success. If the success is valued based on the monetary standard, there should be a comprehensive statistic about the cost and earn of the company and its contrast with the other companies to assure that it is successful. Or if the success is evaluated on the popularity, there should be a noteworthy survey about the company's popularity among the people. Because of the vague definition of the success, it cannot be derived as a cogent deduction that this term is valuable in a scoop of financial or popularity.

Finally, even in a case which the company is successful in both aspect of economic and fame. The argument focally overgeneralized its success to the other food production and posits that it will be successful on the other food production. On the contrary, it cannot be accepted as it assumed in the text. Maybe, the raw materials and it manufacturing process of cereal are cheap and can sell it with low-cost. However, another food production's initial process does not support the affordable cost for its final product. In this scenario, the company will face a knotty financial problem.

All in all, the argument is flawed for the reasons as mentioned above and it is, therefore, unpersuasive. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned to the exact stand of the company in comparison to the other companies, the clear definition of term success, and profitability of this method of sale on the other productions. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debates.