“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at

Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising

our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown

Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than

9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years

ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering

great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine

Movies Galore stores.”

In the memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore which is a chain of video rental stores, the owner decides that in order to increase the profits of the chain which are recently declining , the only way to do so by not damaging the reputation of the company is to decrease operating expenses. The owner comes to this conclusion based on the improved performance of a store in the chain which decreased its operating expenses. But, before implementing this strategy of decreasing operating costs in all the stores there are certain questions to be answered in order to decide whether this tactic would produce efficacious results.

Firstly, the owner should ask himself the question that , Are all the stores comparable? Owner assumes that all the stores are similar in manner.Perhaps, there must be many stores whose peak time is between 7 p.m to 8 p.m as the people around that stores are mostly free at that time. It is also possible that certain stores are famous for having all kinds of movies the customers want, either it be any old or any new movie. If any of the examples are true then the suggestion of the author to decrease operating expenses in all stores does not hold water.

Secondly, the question that arises is that , Are operating expenses the main reason for decline in profits ? The owner ignores the other factors that might be a cause for decline in profits over last few months. Perhaps, Netflix has decreased its monthly subscription and most people think that why to rent, when I can watch anytime. If it is the case the owner should try to look for ways to offer the content online so as to not run out of business which can eventually happen. In this case reducing operating expenses does not really work because it may work for few months but then same problem repeats. If the above situation exists then authors suggestion does not work in an effective way.

In conclusion , as of now the owner does not clearly specify the reason for decline in profits , If the owner is able to provide more insights about the situation it might be helpful in evaluating the situation. As of now, the probability of success of owner’s suggestion to increase profits is very less.