"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

In this argument, the author urged to consider that due to the increase of skateboarding in the central plaza there a significant decrease in the business of the shop owners. To support this recommendation, the author cites that the number of shoppers also been reduced steadily with the popularity of sports. While some people agree to this, I find this argument unconvincing and not cogent for some reasons.

First, the author states that there is a significant reduction of people coming to the central plaza particularly due to an increase in skateboarding. This claim cannot be accepted as it stands. It is entirely possible that there could be some other newly opened shopping complex that has much large amount of shops from every domain or perhaps, the quality of the product in central plaza decreased due to some reasons possibly the increase in the population of the town in recent years. Therefore, correlation does not prove causation. While, the brief statement of prohibiting the sports seems to appear a robust idea, it deficit between what stated and what it is there to clear for and is too large to be overlooked. This ultimately causes a week argument that will count against the author conclusion.

Second, the author hypothesizes that there is an increase in the amount of litter and vandalism due to the skateboarding performed by some people and by prohibiting it completely, there will be a boast in a business. This assumption is unwarranted. It is equally possible to assume that the littering is done by the people who shop in the mall itself or by their kids. Also, it can be the result of less number of dustbins installed in the premises which the author did not include in his argument. As for the destruction of properties, it is nowhere given in the argument whether it is done by the kids who enjoy skateboarding in the mall or the others. Therefore, this assumption is over generalized and author's argument lacks the compelling and affluent reasoning to convince his proposal.

However, it can be said that central plaza is the place where people come to shop for there needs that ranges from clothing or groceries, hence skateboarding within the mall may create disturbance and hinder with the people's movement. But the author is flawed in a way that he fails to substantiate his conclusion with the strong evidence and is teamed with poor reasoning. The careful perusing of evidence provided in the argument reveals that many questions have been left unanswered without which the reader cannot consider it to be consequential.

In conclusion, this is a vague and ambiguous argument, to bolster it the author, must at very least, offer concrete evidence about the correlation for banning the skateboarding with the increase in shoppers and revitalization of business. Perhaps, he can conduct the survey asking the business owners and the shoppers the reason behind their decrease and the causes of vandalism.