Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

The following assumption is flawed in many aspects. The primary one being the number of compalints the station coverage has received on weather and local news - the language is vague, it is not explicitly mentioned what excatly their complaint is about and "how many" complaints have they received. Hence, the assumption is flawed.

As mentioned earlier, the nature of the complaint is not clearly, are the viewers not satisfied with the content of the weather or local news or are they disappointed just because the duration of the news on weather and local subjects has reduced. The assumption is rife with holes, it does not state how many complaints have they received about their "issue" - are they just a small number of people out of the large populace?

The argument is based on the late-night news but the arguer has not clearly mentioned about the timing of the program. Most of the viewers would watch it not more than 10 PM (considering, people have to go work, offices, get their children ready for the schools early on the morning), then at what time the show is telecast? Is it 11 or 12 PM, when they would be hardly any viewers to watch the show? The argument is not sufficient to provide these minor details.

Additonally, the assumption says that the local business that used to advertise with the late-night news program has canceled their advertising contracts - again this is a generic statement, why have the local business have canceled their advertisment, is it because the business itself is not generating much revenue and therefore they had to cut short their expenses on advertisment or was it because the "contract disagreements" between the local business companies and the broadcast company (television station). It could be true that maybe for the reason that now since broadcasting channels are devoting more time on national news, speific regional people couldn't connect with it and hence the broadcasting channels are losing their viewers and hence the local business are cutting ties with the broadcasting channels but we don't know. The reasons are not explicitly mentioned. Had the author has made these assumptions with some evidence then one might have the direction to address the shortcomings as stated in the argument.

If we were to consider national news instead of local news or weather updates, has the television station made it fair with relevant content that is broadcasted. Today we see many television station do focus on national news instead of local news to get more numbers of viewers but at the same time they lose them because the news content is not relevant or engaging or it is just a "debate hour" - where everybody is trying to make their point (or, just speak loudly or literally shouting) to prove their points. If we consider this aspect of the argument, it clearly falls apart.

Instead of making assumptions on the argument, the television station should reach out to their customers/viewers to understand their preferences whether it could be the local news, weather updates or it could be the relevant national news content.