The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Cooperation and competition are two sides of a coin. While looking at first cooperation might look better than competition but compeition has its own significance too. Therefore, I believe the best way to prepare the younger generation for any fields would be by instilling both cooperation and competition.

Competition is necessary at times such as one preparing for entrance exams, while during the preparation of exams, students cooperate with each other in understanding the concepts, queries, etc, to accelerate their preparation, while in the exam the students compete with each other in order to outperform others to achieve better rank/percentage to get in their dream colleges.

While considering any democratic nation, every country has a ruling/governing party and an opposition party, they compete each other to win over the public and to ace the elections. This we can understand as an interior competition but when the nation is jeopardized/attacked by the other nations, the same competiting parties of the nation come together or cooperate to fight back the outsiders. This shows the sense of cooperation among all the nationals of the country.

On a general note, we should all be cooperative with each other instead of cooperative as a society, only then we can grow as humans, society and as a nation. If we ignore the lower echelon of our nation with a thought that they are lower in class (imbibing competitive behavior), this would not help in the long run because the development of any nation not only depends on rich/effluent society people but on all of its nationals. Therefore, there are so many tycoons in the world who do charities for the well being of everybody with a sense of cooperation.

Thus, we should instill the sense of both cooperation and competition among the young people because this comes handy depending upon the situation they are in. Kids are solipistic, self-centered, all they want is attention and cooperation, they don't understand what's competition at the very young age but making them understand the values of both sides of the coin will help them to discern when to be competitive and when to be cooperative.