"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news in less time to weather news or local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertised during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.''

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument wants to highlight the point that the transition of the local news to national news is leading to the loss of revenue due to local people have stopped giving their advertisements. The provided argument is not having a firm ground, as national and local news are both equally important. Moreover, the local news has a lot of drawbacks.

Firstly, the national news is seen all over the nation and which would lead to a higher number of individuals from all over the nation to watch the channel and therefore the TRP rating would also be higher and this would lead to the increase in the advertisements from national-level businesses, which would further result in an increase in revenue.

Secondly, the major problem with the local news is that the reporters are forced to get news from a small area and sometimes in that area lot of things have not taken place in that area, So the reporters are forced to get really lame news at times like a cow has fallen into a well, etc. This leads to the deterioration in the public image of the channel and it leads to a decrease in the number of viewers. And, all of us know that fewer viewers will result in fewer advertisements.

Thirdly, people from any place do require all sorts of news like local, national, etc. So providing more time to the local news is like giving them a reason to go and watch other news channels for gaining knowledge of the nation. That means the channel is itself forcing its viewers to go watch other channels, which is not good for the channel. This would lead to a decrease in the TRP and will result in a decrease in revenue from advertisements.

To conclude, we understand that the local news is important but binding a large amount of fixed time to the local news is going to make things a lot more complicated. And, it would result in a loss rather than gaining profit.