"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument provided is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily the argument is based on the outward assumption that the complaints received from viewers concerned about the station's weather and local news coverage caused the withdrawal and cancellation of local businesses' advertising contracts.

Firstly, the argument fails to provide concrete evidence as to the nature of complaints received regarding the coverage of weather and local news. Although, the perception based on the argument provided will be about the reduction of time to weather and local news, this could be mere assumptions as the majority of the complaints could be attributed to several other reasons which could sporadically affect, most often negatively, subscribers and by extension to local businesses' deals. A presumption will be whether viewers of the late-night program are uncomfortable with the rescinding manner put up by the presenters of both national and local news, even, it could be the nature of the national news being mostly false or so many other reasons.

Also, the argument leaves so many unanswered questions. one of which is if adverts for local businesses have also been rescheduled to an inconvenient time, perhaps the frequency of meaningful placements has drastically reduced which is at the detriment of the local businesses and their stake.

More importantly, local businesses contract cancellation should be backed up with reasons for their actions and not mere hunch as the argument leaves us with so many doubts. This will then properly inform what conclusion and actions are necessary to avoid losing any further