Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and

The memorandum states the television station should increase the time dedicated to local and weather news in order to increase audience and prevent further losses on paid propaganda. The manager is concerned that time dedicated to national news is resulting in fewer advertising contracts with local business and complaints from viewers related to their coverage.

However most the complaints received from viewers were related to the station's coverage of weather and local news, the information provided by the manager is insufficient to conclude that increasing time dedicated to this sort of news would lower complaints. After all, we do not know if there has been an increase in complaints of this type after the change in the programming. Maybe complaints related to coverage on weather and local news have always been the most common. Moreover, we do not know what the viewers are complaining about. They could be unsatisfied not with the amount of news related to weather or local activities, but they could be unpleased with the quality of information presented and they might question the editorial line proposed. In this case, increasing the time dedicated to this news would not reduce the complaints related to it.

The manager also states that local business have cancelled their advertising contracts with the television station. We cannot affirm the cancellations are directly related to the change of programming. The city could be facing an economic crisis and hence local business might have fewer resources to spend on propaganda. Furthermore, we have no information on how much the television station charges for the propaganda during their late-night news program. If there has been increasing prices, local business might no longer be able to afford it and thus they could have diverted their advertising resources to other media. For example, online media is known to be cheaper and more focused, meaning it is easier to set a target audience and concentrate all efforts to deliver information to them only. In this case, local business are not only responding to increased prices of the station, they are merely adjusting their practices to recent trends.

Finally, the manager does not mention the audience behavior. We are unaware whether there has been a decrease or not on the audience after the change in the programing. This is a critical information. Firstly, because if the audience did not decrease, changing the program back to the original set could not result in more viewers. Secondly, because propaganda is strictly related to the audience - if the audience has not decreased, the cancelation of advertising contracts is more likely related to other factors rather than to the programing.

On the whole, it cannot be affirmed that changing the program to restore the time dedicated to local and weather news would increase the number of viewers and neither prevent further cancellations on advertising contracts. In order to conclude so, other information related to the audience behavior, local business financial health, advertising costs on TV and online media, and others shall be necessary.