"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager in his memorandum stated that to reverse the plummeting advertising revenue and attract more viewers to the news program, more coverage of weather and local news should be adopted. His conclusion was based on the complaints received from viewers and cancellation of advertisement contract from local businesses that advertises during the late night news program. However, the manager supports his argument with three assumptions that if not substantiated, drammatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the manager presumes that the local businesses quit advertising due to the increased devotion to national news. However, this may not be the case. Perhaps, the local business were able to find a television channel with cheaper advertisement fee. It is possible on a business sense that this decision will favour them and the revenue generated from less expenses be channeled to other usage that will benefit the business enterprise. If this scenario is true, the manager contention based on reason for the contract cancellation does not hold water.

Secondly, the manager stated during the intensified coverage of national news, most of the complain were from concerned viewers. But this may not necessarily be the truth. The majority of complainers might be from the managers competitor that seeks monopoly of broadcasting national news. Having the sole right and others at the pheriphery may suit this company, and competition from any company has to be truncated. So, complaining might be a good method to achieve that. If this case is true, expanding the coverage of weather and local news might not increase the number of viewers since the complainers were not actually concerned but complained to achieve a dubious motive.

Finally, even if coverage of local and weather news is expanded, increase advertisment revenue may not actually follow suit. There is a possibility that these local business are no longer in need for tv advertisement. The best form of advert still remains a happy consumer selling the business to a potential consumer. These business enterprises may have attained a specific level that their large consumer base does the advertisement without spending a dime. If this scenario has merit, the conclusion drawn by the manager is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to the reliance on three unfounded assumptions that renders the conclusion unpersuasive. Thus, the manager should provide more evidence on the local business reason to terminate the advertisment contract and also the true intention of the 'concerned' complainers.