"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The manager of television station asserts that, they are going to restore the time which is devoted to weather and local news as before in order to increase the viewership and also the advertising revenues. The manager presents various evidences such as complaints from the viewers and also information about the advertising contracts of the local business as reasons for the decision. However there are many assumptions which needs to be addressed before coming to a decision.

Firstly, the author does not mention the reasons about why did the television station devoted more time to national news than weather and local news in the last year. It might be that, the news station observed less viewership of the local news and weather so they shifted to national news. If this is true then shifting it back would not help the television station as viewership will not increase.

Secondly, the author does not specify whether the advertising contracts were cancelled with the television station due to lesser viewers. It is a possibility that, the television station are charging more to the advertisers in order to increase the revenue which is lost due to lesser viewers. So if that is the case, then shifting back to local news and weather on late night news program will not help getting advertising contracts.

Furthermore, the television station do not mention about the number of viewers who watch and are interested in local news and weather and who are interested in national news. It could be that the overall viewership of both the programs have decreased due to incorporation of another news channel which is far better than the television station. It is also possible that due to easy availability of news and weather on smartphones and social media platforms, many viewers watch news and weather on their smartphones. Even some platforms such as youtube give access to the viewers for news and weather. On these platform even the advertisers and put up their advertisements which can reach more people at an affordable price.

To sum up, there are many assumptions which needs to be addressed and analysed before coming to any conclusive decision. The television station must analyse all the possible scenarios and reasons before taking any decision.