A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

The pet food company asserts that the pet food manufactured by the company is not responsible for the vomiting, lethargy and other signs of illness to the pet. The pet food company tested the chemicals and posits thatm the chemicals are approved for use in pet food. But there are several assumptions being made which needs to addressed before coming to any conclusion.

Firstly, the company tested the samples from the recalled food and just checked whether the chemicals are approved for the use in the pet food. It might be that, even if these chemicals are approved for the pet food due to factors such as storage, weather conditions, environment there is some reactions happening in the chemicals which causes lethargy,vomiting to the tests. So the company must test all possible factors and not just the chemicals used.

Secondly, the statement mentions that the company performed tests on the recalled food. The question here is that, whether the tests performed are full proof and unbiased. As the company's reputation is at stake it might be that the company manipulated the results just to maintain their reputation in the business.

Finally, the company just tested their pet food but it might be the case that the problem take place when their pet food is mixed water or milk. As the pet food contained chemicals, it is a possibility that mixing the pet food with water or milk gave rise to chemical reactions which in turn led to problems to the pet. It is also possible pet food has no problems but the way in which the food is packed and stored is not proper which lead to this problem.

To sum up, the company must perform the tests considering all the factors which may be directly or indirectly involved before arriving at any conclusion.