A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims here that, as the chemical elements found in the pet food are approved chemicals for pet food, so no more resourses should be devoted to examine further why the illness is occuring. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention some key feature, on the basis of which it could have been evaluated. To support the claim, the argument reasons that , as only approved chemical were used in making the food, the food company is not responsible for the situation. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that there is little credible support to the argument's claim. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete and unsustainable.

Firstly, the argument readily assumes that as they are using approved set of chemicals, their amalgam should also be an approved chemical. This is merely an assumption without much solid ground. To illustrate, there are many chemicals which are beneficial to health. But when that kind of a chemical is mixed with another harmless chemical, sometimes they can produce some deathly chemical. Hence, it would been more convincing if the author explicitly stated that, the amalgam of those chemicals is also an approved chemical.

Again, the argument points out that as test lab finds only those approvedf chemicals, they should not inquiry moire. This is another weak and unsupported claim that does not demonstrate any clear correlation between the validity of test and decision of not tesing further. For example, the instruments can be outdated or faulty. So, if the author have proved with evidence that all the lab instruments are tested and are up to date it would have been much more convincing.

In addition to some pore reasoning, the conclusion raises some skeptical questions. Do enough amount of supplies were tested? Were the samples from the sick pets collected? Are test material functioning correctly? Without answering these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claim is just wishful thinking of the argument rather than substantive evidence.

Finally, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster further, the argument should have mentioned some statistic data to support his conclusion. Without them, this argument is weak.