"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author correlated viewers complain and advertisers contract with not broadcasting weather and local news has a lot of holes in the argument. Though the claim seems beleivable to some extent that, as late night news are seen by elderly people of the country and loosing the viewers may effect in the revenue of advertisers company for which they have canceled there contract. But the author does not explicitly say here that people will not watch their channel if they do not show weather and local news from their station at midnight.

Television channels have different kinds of viewers which have a variety of interests based on their age, race, views and thoughts. To increase a revenue what a channel should focus on is what most of the viewers of their channel want to see and by those they can attract different advertisers to their channel. Here, people who are reported to be complained for not showing local news and weather news may not be of greater margin of viewers as a whole. For example, if 1000 people watch the channel at late night and only 20 of them complained, it falls in the 2% of the viewers which are very low to be considered for further losses in revenue to the company. Additionaly, local businesses who were concerened about their viewers per advertise ratio can have different reasons to opt out from continuing their deal with the television company. It is possible that they get better deals at low cost from other television channel who also have more viewers compared to this one.

Thus, attracting more viewers does not solely depends on showing a particular content like weather news on local news but many other parameters which also should be take into account. Advertising revenues can also be earned from offering those companies discounted rate per minute. Local news can be broadcasted during this time period but further investigations are also requried whether the number of views increased substantially as a consequence.

On the other hand, a counter argument can be given based on the fact that, advertising revenue consists of most of the share of that television company's revenue and those company's product are newly launched so their sales depends mostly on their marketing policy. As a result, those company can not take risks to lose to any potential customers. This arguement also had a lot of holes in it's own and based on many if's and but's which are not clear in the author's statement. Still, if this is the scenario, television company can offer showing advertises on other time which has most viewers and show them incentives to get more viewers than before. It can also be poised by them that, weather news and local news viewers have drastically declined over the couple of years and show no indication of rising to previous rate in near future so a small number of people's complain does not effect those business company's product.