The business manager of a television station states that over the past year they have devoted more time for national news and less time to weather and local news as part of their late night broadcast. This, according to him has led to decrease in revenues from local businesses. Thus he recommends that they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to it’s former level. However, this argument is flawed in various aspects.

First of all, the author tell that they have increased the time devoted to the national news and are devoting less time for the local news and weather reports. But, the author fails to explain, by how much duration has the broadcasting of the national news increased. If it has been increased by a small duration, consider ten minutes, then it’s not a significant change and hence it may not affect the business operations of the television station. Also, the author doesn’t provide information regarding when such a change was made and why was it made. It may happen that there is a dearth of local news and thus the news channel revised their airing schedules.

Further, the author claims that they have received complaints from the viewers, but it is not clear how reliable the complaints are. It needs to be known who made those complaints. For example, it may happen that the complaints are not large but have been made by a few viewers repeatedly. Also, it mentions that the complaints were regarding the station’s coverage of weather and local news, but it is not clear what were the subject of those complaints. It may happen that the viewers are not satisfied by the reliability of the information provided. The author has assumed that the viewers are not happy with the reduced time of the weather and local news. There is a high chance that the viewers want further reduction in the airing duration of the local news and weather.

It is unclear why the author has considered only national news and weather and local news as the only possible programs. Is there a dearth of entertainment or information on the Earth. There could be broadcasts on international news or maybe another informative programs. If the author has considered those options with a great degree deliberation, then it is not at all apparent in the argument.

Also, the author states that it is loosing on revenues from local businesses, but no information is provided regarding revenues from national businesses. The author needs to provide such information in order to enable the reader to properly analyze the argument. It would be wise for the author to consider the points mentioned above. Generally, it can be stated that the author has failed to make a convincing argument.